Driving in… Paradise Island!

16 Mar

Driving – something which I was always craving for. I got so disillusioned about driving that I even contemplated to getting back into travelling by bus.

Driving in… Paradise Island can be HELL, frustrating and so crazy!

But one thing for sure, which is quite reassuring is that it’s not worse than driving on the roads of Paris! No offence to French people, but seriously… !

I really work hard to keep a healthy level of sanity driving on the streets with all those crazy people and really try my level best not to get out of the car and just slap these people. As if making me slam on my brakes was just what need to be done so these people could dart around like we’re playing bumper cars.

I guess these events are also good reminders to pray.

And what’s more frustrating is that Mauritian people get more excited (and out of control sometimes) when they see a woman driving.

I strongly recommend penalty points for ALL drivers in Mauritius, not just young drivers. Studies have shown that the majority of accidents are caused by people who hold a driving license for more than 10 years. But we can’t deny the fact that the most deadly ones are caused by the reckless driving of young people. With the introduction of penalty points to all drivers, more and more people will definitely become weighed down with penalty points on their licence. The fact of the matter is that losing your driving licence as a result, could have a serious impact on everyone’s everyday life from hindering one’s journey to work to even losing one’s job – This will MAYBE  give room to some thinking time to all those crazy people on the road.

If you are driving just for the sake of pleasure of thrill-seeking, and feelings of pride and power  you might as well just shoot yourself!!

2 Responses to “Driving in… Paradise Island!”

  1. Yashvin March 16, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    If I had to slap every driver who commits serious offenses every morning while I drive to work, I would never reach office on time, even if I left home early. But those people will always remember me, or rather my words 🙂

    You mentionned Paris but it cannot be worse than India and China.

  2. Maliha March 19, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    LOL! I can imagine how it is, because I went through same in the morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

