Why are we closer to cousins from our mother’s side?

29 Aug

I was thinking about my relationship with my cousins lately. Actually one of my cousins, my mom’s sis daughter came to stay at my place for a weekend during holidays. When she returned home, I miss her a lot. Even though we don’t meet often, she is really close to me in many ways. I can tell her everything and trust her. She has always been with me all the time and we have had lots of fun together each time we meet.

I still remember the last we had so much fun, we went at Port-Louis and we burst into laughter in the middle of the road, and were nearly lost in the streets of the capital. We had lunch at Grand Ocean and we ordered so many things and our stomach was full halfway the meal, that we had to ask the waiter to pack the rest of the food. And…most prolly they added some kinda funny stuffs in the food, since we were feelin’ funny afterwards πŸ˜›

According to a study which was published by the University Of Texas in Austin, it has been proved that we tend to be more closer to our mother’s sister’s children than our fathers. And I have realised that this is somehow true because it actually applies to me, and when I look around I also realise that this was more or less the case with people in my surroundings as well.

Evolution by natural selection has shaped us to mistrust paternity, say researchers, and their findings confirm a prediction by evolutionary scientists that we tend to be kinder – altruistic – to the children of our mother’s sister than those of our father’s brother.

“We predicted and found that… humans act most altruistically toward mother’s sister’s children, followed by both mother’s brother’s children and father’s sister’s children, and least altruistically toward father’s brother’s children,” the researchers said in the study they published.

SP_A0548Myself and my dearest cousin

Does this apply to you as well? πŸ˜‰

Ramadaan Mubarak To Every Muslims, make the most of this month! πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Why are we closer to cousins from our mother’s side?”

  1. val August 29, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    not sure how much this applies to me, since during my childhood I was closer to my dad’s side of the family, but over the last few years, that has shifted to my mom’s somehow… weird.

  2. Β₯@$# August 29, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Absolutely true!

    Well I suppose the fact that we tend to spend more time with cousins from mother’s side when we’re still kids is a lot responsible for this… And why would we spend more time with them? Well maybe it’s easier for a woman to trust her own rather than her in-laws, and would hence prefer her children to spend time at her sister’s or brother’s place…

  3. Maliha August 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    @ val: Actually im close to my cousins on my dad’s side as well but im closer to one of my mom’s sis daughter.

    @Yash: its true what you said about woman trusting her own rather than her in-laws and wanting her children to be closer to her family instead of that of her hubby! my mom is so like that…

  4. Angele August 30, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    That’s interesting to know. I never thought of it that way. Hahaha.

    I’m definitely closer to my mom’s side of the family. I have a cousin who’s a year younger than me and we have always got along very well. She’s like my sister. But actually I always thought the reason we got along is that she lives next door and we see each other quite often.

    Hey I once get lost in the streets of Port-Louis with my cuz! Hahahah. We were still at school and so unfamiliar with Pl. We were like 2 crazy girls asking for directions! How lame. Lol!

  5. azra September 4, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    I completely agree with you. I have myself always been closed to my mom’s side of the family, my youngest kala who is a few years older than me is probably the most important person in my life after my mom n nani. and I can spend hours talking to my cusin/cuzines on my mom’s side. Even if i live far away from them since two years i dont really see anychange as we still have our own ways of fer nou ban ti palab..I am so proud of my moms family.

Leave a Reply

