Indian Wear

13 May

red-wedding-lenghaIm soo fond of indian dress, i love wearing them even though on very rare occasion such as weddings. I  get completely completely floored by the beautiful range of lehenga cholis, saris, salwar kameez that are nothing less than perfection. Infact Im quite amazed by everthing related to indian culture – they seem so colourful and beautiful.  Its not that i love wearing those colourful heavy dresses, but i just love watching them. I like the simple ones with beautiful designs. 

CUSTOM-MADE_02

I just added this beautiful green dress to my wish list, which i saw on Kaneesha.com. The colour is fantastic and as you can see it is simple yet classy. 

The internet provides an infinite range of shopping destinations for indian wears. I had ordered a lehenga on my cousins wedding some years back. You just have to give proper measurements and add some notes if you want some additional stuffs added to it, and pay for it. I got my lehenga about two and a half weeks after; however my mom did have to adjust it a little bit. But It was exactly as i saw it 🙂

Nowadays we can find a lot of western influences and modern designs that have been incorporated into the basic structure of any Indian outfit – and maybe thats what makes it sooo classy. However I wouldnt mind wearing a totally traditional indian outfit (*for picture shots ONLY*) 

Saris are my favorites – I possessed none 😦 They have a sensuous and elegant look. However I did wear it quite a few times for fashion shows at school and my brother’s weddings(that was 5years back :() I found it hard to walk with it for the first time i wore it, especially with high heels, fearing that it will simply fall off me, but later on I was comfy with it. There are several styles of draping for saris, and I think I tried almost all of them, just to see how they looked. My neighbour is an expert “sari draper” 😉

wishlist 

 

 

Hehe…so this is my wish list. I think I really need a trip to India to get these 😉 I love the flowing folds of saris. And the different designs for cholis, and the embroidered materials. Also what really makes indian clothes nice is the colours – so colourfully trendy.

5 Responses to “Indian Wear”

  1. morinn May 13, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    Wow, those are truly beautiful! I really love the green colour of that dress. 😛 Those clothes make me dream. I’ve recently developed a craze for sarees. I’ve even asked my mum to show me how to wear them and to walk with them. LOL. My cousin will be getting married in some months and I’m planning to wear one on that day. 😀

  2. Maliha May 13, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    Hehe…If only I could have them all in my wardrobe 🙂 I soo love the green colour as well, i got a churidar of that colour and its beautiful! I dont know how to wear sari, its always my neighbour who makes me wear it when i need to!
    Ohhh that great! Sari will certainly make u look different and elegant 🙂 I so want someone to get married so I can wear a sari 😦

  3. yashvin May 13, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    smells girl here 😛

  4. Maliha May 13, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    sure does smell girls…
    but comon im sure u like it when a girl dresses in indian clothes as well 😉 those saris 🙂 aint it beautiful? 🙂

  5. darshi May 14, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Hi…
    You have a nice blog. the clothes are really beautiful, you got nice taste 🙂
    I love the green dress as well, and i also love wearing saris.
    Have a nice day

Leave a Reply

