Rings

12 May

Last night I was looking at my jewellery collection and i found out that i got so many rings, most of which i never wear or I’ve never even worn. I have never really been fond of rings, but I always wear one, my awesome pearl ring – which is priceless for me. There are many reasons why people wear rings. I have noticed (and even confirmed it) that guys always see whether a girl wears some ring before going to talk to her. Ahaaa! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I must admit that sometimes I do glance at some cute guys hands as well to see if there are any signs of ‘commitments’. Hehe! … simply out of curiosity ^^

Rings symbolise different things for different people.ย 

Rings are a great symbol to commemorate special events and occasions. At the forefront are the rings for wedding and engagement, which are usually inlaid with a diamond, the size of which is dependent on your financial capacity and personal choice. It is used to symbolize the coupleโ€™s strong commitment and undying love to each other – pour le meilleur et (surtout ;)) pour le pire! These are usually worn upon the fourth finger of the left hand. This finger is thought to have the “vein of Love” which is the shortest vein to the heart. ๐Ÿ˜‰

52113,1184322006,1

ย 

Even graduating from a university can also be celebrated with a class ring. Nuns and priests joining in the service of their religious order also get their own rings.

In modern fashion, there is a new trend of celebrating your single-ship with the โ€œsingle ringโ€, as opposed to being committed. It shows that youโ€™re single, available and looking for a partner.ย 

Other rings like the mood ring (a ring that changes in color depending on the mood youโ€™re in), the birthstone ring (a ring set with a corresponding gem of the month you were born), the mothersโ€™ ring (a ring inlaid with her childrenโ€™s birthstones) are also common.

Update:ย Birthstones are gems that have been linked to the months of the year and assigned particular characteristics such as innocence and health. Many people consider it lucky to wear the stone associated with their birthday.

Birthstones(Source:http://encarta.msn.com/media_461565382_761563821_1_1/birthstones_and_their_symbolic_meanings.html

Toe rings are also trendy these days. They seem to be ruling the roost as far as fashion for the feet is concerned these days.

…If there is one rule that never changes its the fact that all women want to look good, from HEAD to TOE ๐Ÿ˜‰

10 Responses to “Rings”

  1. Umar May 12, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

    The ring is a circle (duh!) and a circle symbolises completeness, eternity. It has no beginning nor end, like time. The hole in the center of the ring is not just mere empty space either; it is important in its own right as the symbol of the gateway or the door; leading to things and events both known and unknown. So that’s why it was associated with feelings of love.
    So if you want to show love, nothing better than sticking her finger through the hole (no sexual innuendos intended :p)

  2. morinn May 13, 2009 at 5:25 am #

    I love birthstone rings. They look so mystical! ๐Ÿ˜› Mine is an amethyst.

  3. Angele May 13, 2009 at 6:47 am #

    I like rings but I don’t like wearing too many rings. Hahaha! I always wear my ring with an aquamarine stone that my bf gave me some time ago ๐Ÿ™‚

    You mentioned the class ring. I didn’t know that until last year when my brother graduated from UofT and he was given a beautiful class ring. I didn’t have that when I graduated ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Maliha May 13, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    @ Umar: The wedding or engagement ring should be worn with pride, coz it is a symbol of lEuvee! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    p.s: lol, oh i think it should be a mutual action – show him her eternal love by sticking his finger through the hole (no sexual innuendos intended as well ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    @ Morinn: i soo love birthstones as well. Amethyst for pisces ๐Ÿ™‚ Mine is sapphire…
    They are really beautiful, I wish i could have them all ๐Ÿ™‚ *just for my collection*. I was looking for a sapphire ring on ebay since….years ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think ill start bidding for one..soon ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Maliha May 13, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    @Angele: Same here, i dont like wearing many rings! One is ok ๐Ÿ™‚ Ahh the aquamarine stone is a symbol of courage, knowledge and inspiration. -Google ๐Ÿ˜‰ and its his symbol of love to you!

    About the class ring, I didnt have one as well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It would have been cool to have everyone wearing the same ring! Id also like to have a mood ring lol! so that i know when im switching mood hihi!

  6. kathy May 13, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    I have a blue sapphire ring, which my bf gave me recently. I wear it all the time, and each time i look at it, it reminds me of him and of the circle of love which has no beginning and end ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Angele May 13, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    Heyy my birthstone is sapphire as well ^_^

  8. Maliha May 13, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    @ Kathy: aww dats sweet ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Angele: A virgo as well? ๐Ÿ˜› On which date? mine is 2nd september

  9. Angele May 13, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    Yeah I’m a virgo. My birthday is on the 17th Sept ๐Ÿ˜›

  10. Carine May 17, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    The only ring I wear (even when I’m exercising as some people remove theirs to protect the ring) is my wedding band. I seldom wear my engagement ring except for dinners …

    I didn’t know about the class ring until now hehe.

Leave a Reply

